Jesse Gilbert exploring transdisciplinary arts and culture

CREATE Festival 2-A

Jesse created live visuals for the second iteration of Wadada Leo Smith’s CREATE Festival in New Haven, CT on April 7-8, 2018.

Legendary composer and trumpeter Wadada Leo Smith presents the Second Annual CREATE Festival in New Haven, CT, a two-day celebration and exploration of his inventive and unclassifiable music that will feature world or US premiere performances of four new suites. Taking place Saturday, April 7 and Sunday, April 8, 2018 at Firehouse 12, 45 Crown Street, New Haven, CT, the festival will include performances by five separate ensembles over two evenings and include an exhibit of Smith’s Ankhrasmation Symbolic Language Scores. Performances take place at 7 p.m. each evening; exhibition walk-through on Sunday at 3 p.m. A full schedule of events is below. Tickets are $30 for each of the concerts; $55 for both. There is no charge for the exhibit.

Saturday, April 7th 2018,  7 pm

Lamar Smith Ensemble – Number One* composed by Lamar Smith
Lamar Smith: Guitar
Hardedge: Electronics
Thurman Barker: Drums

Kosmic Music Ensemble – Dark Matter, Dark Energy: The Unseen Suite* composed by Wadada Leo Smith
Wadada Leo Smith: Trumpet
Bobby Naughton: Vibraphone
Sylvie Courvoisier: Piano
Lamar Smith: Guitar
Thurman Barker: Drums
Jawara: Jimbe and Percussion

Great Lakes Quartet – The Great Lakes Suite composed by Wadada Leo Smith, USA Premiere
Wadada Leo Smith: Trumpet
Jonathan Haffner: Alto and Soprano Saxophone
John Lindberg: Bass
Thurman Barker: Drums

All Performances: Jesse Gilbert, Video Artist  

Sunday, April 8th

Exhibition of Ankhrasmation Scores: 3 pm at 47 Crown St, New Haven, CT

Performance: 7 pm

Harriet Tubman – President Obama’s Speech at The Selma Bridge, USA Premiere composed Wadada Leo Smith
Brandon Ross: Guitar
Melvin Gibbs: Bass
J.T. Lewis: Drums
Wadada Leo Smith: Trumpet

Golden Quintet – Peace, Love and Liberty: Compassion and Respect For a Tolerant World: A Suite* composed by Wadada Leo Smith

Wadada Leo Smith: Trumpet
Anthony Davis: Piano
Ashley Walters: Cello
Pheeroan akLaff: Drums

All Performances: Jesse Gilbert, Video Artist  


Venue:  Firehouse 12
45 Crown Street
New Haven, CT  06510

Comments are closed.

Site Search

jessegilbert [at] gmail [dot] com